Long Beach to Host YMCA National Gymnastics Championship in 2016 For the First Time • Long Beach Post

Long Beach will host its first YMCA National Gymnastics Championship in Long Beach in summer 2016, the Greater YMCA of Long Beach announced this week.

The Long Beach YMCA was selected by the YMCA of the USA after a site visit earlier this year. The meet will be hosted at the Long Beach Convention Center.

“With this selection, we are sure the YMCA of Greater Long Beach and the surrounding communities will make this an extraordinary event for our YMCA gymnasts, their families and friends,” National Director of Events for YMCA of the USA Jim Wheaton said in a statement. “We look forward to celebrating the best in gymnastics competition in Long Beach.”

According to a release issued Tuesday, over 1,600 gymnasts from over 100 YMCAs across the country will compete in Long Beach next year—June 29 to July 3, 2016, along with hundreds of parents and volunteers. The event is also expected to bring three to five million dollars to the local economy, the release said.

“Our gymnastics program has produced YMCA national gymnastics champions in the past and we are excited for the opportunity to do it in our own backyard while showcasing our talent, leadership and community engagement,” YMCA of Greater Long Beach Senior Executive Director Emilio Sosa said.

YMCA of Greater Long Beach President and CEO Alfredo Velasco said the YMCA was “proud to host this prestigious event and provide the opportunity for national, state, and our local Long Beach gymnasts to demonstrate the many benefits of YMCA program involvement.”

Long Beach was selected due to “tremendous community support evidenced during the site visit,” the Long Beach YMCA personnel’s energy and expertise, and for its venue quality, the release said.

Past YMCA national gymnastics competitors have included Olympians from the 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968 and 1970 Olympic teams— competitors that include Abie Grossfeld (1956 and 1980), Joyce Tanac Shroeder (1968) and Linda Metheny Mulvihill (1964, 1968, and 1970).

Share this:

« »