Doug Haubert To Run For Long Beach City Prosecutor

Former Long Beach Deputy City Prosecutor Doug Haubert has announced his intention to run for City Prosecutor in this April's election, according to a press release this afternoon.

Haubert will run against current Assistant City Prosecutor Timothy O'Reilly, who is also pursuing the seat.

Haubert and O'Reilley will run for the open seat left by current City Prosecutor Tom Reeves, who is running for City Attorney against incumbent Robert Shannon.

“With my experience in civil and criminal prosecution, I am dedicated to making sure that Long Beach residents can live the best quality of life in this City,” said Doug Haubert. “I look forward to working with residents to make Long Beach a safer City for everyone.”

Haubert's announcement came with a daunting array of endorsements for a just-announced candidate, including two current Deputy City Attorneys and five out of nine Long Beach City Councilmembers.

Tom Clark is one of two former Long Beach mayors to endorse Haubert.

“Doug is a proven prosecutor,” Clark said in the press release. “Being endorsed by 15 current and former city council members in just two days shows incredible support across the city. I have never seen this level of support so quickly for a candidate in Long Beach, and I’ve been in Long Beach politics for over 45 years.”

Haubert’s list of endorsements includes:

State Officials:

Senator Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach)
Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal (D-Long Beach)
Former State Senator Betty Karnette (D-Long Beach)

Long Beach City Electeds:

Mayor Ernie Kell (former)
Mayor Tom Clark (former Mayor and current Long Beach City College Trustee)
Councilmember Robert Garcia
Councilmember Suja Lowenthal
Councilmember Gary Delong
Councilmember Patrick O'Donnell
Councilmember Rae Gabelich
Councilmember Evan Anderson Braude (former)
Councilmember Doug Drummond (former)
Councilmember Ray Grabinski (former)
Councilmember Jackie Kell (former)
Councilmember Jeff Kellogg (former)
Councilmember Doris Topsy-Elvord (former)

Long Beach School Board Members:

Dr. Felton Williams
John Meyer
Mary Stanton
Jim Choura
Bobbie Smith (former)

Long Beach City College Board Members:

Mark Bowen, President, Board of Trustees
Jeff Kellogg, Member, Board of Trustees


Water Replenishment District Member (Long Beach) Lillian Kawasaki
Long Beach Unified School District Superintendent Chris Steinhauser
Mike Day, President, Teachers Association of Long Beach
Long Beach Deputy City Attorney Randy Fudge
Long Beach Deputy City Attorney Gary Anderson
Long Beach Harbor Commissioner Mario Cordero

More to come...

Click here to read our policy on covering the Long Beach City Council.

Share this: