Mayor Garcia to Host 8th Annual Go Long Beach Awards • Long Beach Post

Thirty-three outstanding individuals will be honored tonight for their contributions to the city, from art to public service, during the Go Long Beach Awards, the city announced today.

ADVERTISEMENT - Story continues below
Advertise with the Post

“This year we are honoring some amazing and courageous leaders from across the city,” Mayor Robert Garcia said in a statement. “They have all worked tirelessly to make Long Beach a better place and we are eternally grateful for their efforts.”

Awardees include the artists who participated in the Cambodia Town Mural Project last year—Angela Wilcocks, Bodeck Hernandez, Zeinab (ZYNB), Jason Keam, Richardo Vilchis, Tracy Negrete, Jose Martinez and Sayon Syorasoeuth—a partnership between the Arts Council for Long Beach, Cambodia Town Inc., United Cambodian Community, Homeland Cultural Center, Long Beach Transit and the 2nd, 4th and 6th districts.

Other honorees include Katie Rispoli Keaotamai, founder of local nonprofit We Are the Next, which provides opportunities for youth and young adults to better understand and influence their city, Gabe Middleton, co-founder of Human I T, a nonprofit that fixes and redistributes donated technology to low-income individuals and Jane Roeder, interim director of the Ukleja Center for Ethical Leadership at Cal State Long Beach and former executive director of Leadership Long Beach, to name just a few.

The Go Long Beach Awards will be presented to the following list of awardees:

Janet McCarthy, Susana Sngiem, Daryl James, Danita Humphrey, Andy Kerr, Rev. Leon Woods, Jr., Carolyn Smith Watts, Naida Tushnet, Gabe Middleton, Jane Roeder, Dolores Nason, Dharma Shakti, Charlie Beirne, and Katie Rispoli Keaotamai.

Judy Seal, Lionel Gonzalez, Sarah Soriano, Federico Laguerder, Angela Wilcocks, Bodeck Hernandez, Zeinab (ZYNB), Jason Keam, Richardo Vilchis, Tracy Negrete, Jose Martinez, Sayon Syorasoeuth, Diko Melkonian, Cory Allen, Jewels, Mia Farrow, Tony Darono, Mike & Arline Walter and LaDawn Best.

The Go Long Beach Awards will be held on Friday from 5:30PM to 8:00PM at Keesal Young and Logan located at 400 Oceangate #1400.

Asia Morris is a Long Beach native covering arts and culture for the Long Beach Post. You can reach her @hugelandmass on Twitter and Instagram and at [email protected].

Free news isn’t cheap.

We believe that everyone should have access to important local news, for free.

However, it costs money to keep a local news organization like this one—independently owned and operated here in Long Beach, without the backing of any national corporation—alive.

If independent local news is important to you, please consider supporting us with a monthly or one-time contribution. Read more.

Select Payment Method
Personal Info

This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00 Monthly


Share this:

« »