CSULB Alumna Wins 2015 California Teacher of the Year

Amy Laughlin, an alumna of California State University, Long Beach (CSULB) and a teacher at Hansen School in Anaheim, has been named a 2015 California Teacher of the Year by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson. She was among five other award-winning educators named as 2015 California Teachers of the Year.

TeacherCSLaughlin is an experienced educator, with 16 years under her belt, 13 of them at Hansen School and the last six as a Title I Intervention Specialist there. In her role as a specialist, she ensures that all children under her wing have a fair, equal and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality education. Her class, called Husky time, is an intensive reading intervention program she created for struggling students in all grade levels.

“I am honored to receive this award. I share this with the colleagues I collaborate with and the thousands of hard-working California teachers who are just as passionate about making a difference as I am. The courses I took at CSULB surrounded me with inspirational teachers and motivating peers who influenced me to fight for what I stand for,” said Laughlin in a written statement. “The education I received at Long Beach sharpened my skills in teaching, learning and leading, which I will forever be grateful for.”

“Simply put,” wrote Shannon D. Wyatt, principal of Hansen School, “Amy Laughlin is the most amazing educator I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Amy’s greatest strength is her ability to motivate and build relationships with students.”

Laughlin is a revered educator who also earned the 2015 Orange County and Savanna School District Teacher of the Year awards. She earned an Administrative Services Credential in 2013 at CSULB and a master of arts in curriculum and instruction in middle school education at California State University, San Bernardino. She also earned a B.S. in elementary education from Illinois State University. Prior to Hansen, she taught at Cahuilla Elementary School in Palm Springs.

“It is an honor to recognize these five incredibly dedicated teachers who devote their energy, passion and creativity to helping all their students achieve inside and outside the classroom,” Torlakson remarked in a statement. “These teachers have made a huge difference in their students’ lives.”

Share this: