ePrix to Return to Long Beach to Electrify Iconic Grand Prix Course Once Again


Image courtesy of Steve Dawson/Grand Prix Association of Long Beach.

The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) World Motor Sport Council announced Tuesday that the calendar has been approved for the second season of the FIA Formula E Championship, with Long Beach scheduled to host the sixth event of 11 rounds in the series on Saturday, April 2, 2016. Overall, the Formula E events will be hosted at 10 venues, with the 2015-16 season beginning once again in Beijing on October 17.

Last year’s inaugural Long Beach ePrix saw 20 single-seat environmentally friendly race cars zoom (much more quietly) around a modified 1.6-mile, seven-turn portion of the iconic Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach race course in front of more than 20,000 fans in the stands. Nelson Piquet Jr. won the race by 1.7 seconds over Jean-Eric Vergne on his way to winning the first IFA Formula E Championship last month.

CEO of Formula E, Alejandro Agag, stated that the success of the first California event and its continuation next year is a way to promote sustainability and maintain the "Golden State" as the number one market for plug-in electric vehicles.

“It’s extremely exciting to welcome the ePrix back to Long Beach for a second year, and we are hopeful that this demonstration of innovation, sustainability, and cutting edge technology will return to our city year after year,” said Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia in a statement.

“We’re delighted that Formula E has again chosen Long Beach as one of its premier venues for 2016,” said Jim Michaelian in a statement, president and CEO of the Grand Prix Association of Long Beach, which will again operate the event. “Last year’s event attracted a large and enthusiastic audience who witnessed the first ever electric car race here in the western United States and this year’s event promises to provide even more entertainment value both on and off the track.”

He added that the sustainability concept fits perfectly with the major conservation initiatives the city has put into effect.

The 2015-16 FIA Formula E Championship has added Paris, France as a new venue for its second season, while the series will also visit Putrajaya (Malaysia), Punta del Este (Uruguay), Buenos Aires, Berlin, Moscow and, to conclude the series, London.

For more information about the FIA Formula E Championship, click here

Share this: