Long Beach City College Vikings Pack on Football Honors, Look to State Champs • Long Beach Post

File photo.

As the Long Beach City College (LBCC) vikings (10-1) prepare for this weekend’s Southern California Championships at Saddleback College, they discovered they were on the receiving end of 16 Southern California Football Association National Division All-Central League postseason honors.

LBCC announced the award wins Monday. Brett Peabody was named Coach of the Year, wide receiver Mike Wilson (Washington Prep HS) was named Offensive Player of the Year and sophomore defensive end Mat Boesen (West Torrance HS/Boise State) was named Co-Defensive player of the year.

Peabody is in his third season as coach of the Vikings, leading the team to a 10-1 record this season, after beating Cerritos College in the Southern California Bowl and regional playoff game, 34-30. The team is currently two games from winning their first state championship since 1995, according to a release. Since he took over the team in 2013, the Vikings have recorded a record of 23-9 and won two bowl games. In 2012, the team went 0-10.

With 78 receptions for 1,240 yards and 16 touchdowns, Wilson has set two receiving records this season and one is within reach. He has set LBCC single-season records, with 78 catches and 16 TDs.

Meanwhile, Boesen has led a front line for the Vikings with a total of 57 tackles, including 21.5 for loss with eight sacks. He’s also broken up three passes and forced seven fumbles.

Seven of LBCC’s offensive players were named first-team All Central League, including:

  • Darren Johnson, sophomore, running back
  • Emery Sefo, sophomore, offensive lineman
  • Kiante Goudeau, sophomore, cornerback
  • Josh Fatu, sophomore, defensive tackle
  • Isaia Rosten, freshman, outside linebacker
  • London Iakopo, sophomore, safety

First-team All Central League defensive players honored include:

  • Jacob Hines, offensive linemen
  • Nicholas Jordan
  • Jack Lowary, quarterback
  • Jacob Welch, wide receiver
  • Shalom Tupua, defensive tackle
  • J’Quan Hawkins, inside linebacker

Share this:

« »