Long Beach Muni Band is back for 109th season; here’s the schedule

The Long Beach Municipal Band begins its 109th season (above). Courtesy of City of Long Beach.

The Long Beach Municipal Band kicks off its 109th season this Tuesday, June 26, with free outdoor concerts planned through Aug. 3.

Conducted by Larry Curtis, it is is the longest-running municipal band in the country.

Larry Curtis, conductor of the Long Beach Municipal Band. Courtesy photo.

“The old-fashioned concert in the park is one of the finest family entertainment experiences available,” Curtis said in a prepared statement. “Many who attend the concerts bring picnic dinners and blankets or lawn chairs. It’s a very festive atmosphere.”

Each concert has a different theme. Week one concerts are a salute to Barnum and Bailey (not so much to the circus, per se, but to the music behind it).

All concerts begin at 6:30 p.m. Here’s the schedule and themes for this summer’s series:

  • Tuesday, June 26, Whaley Park, 5620 Atherton.
  • Wednesday, June 27, Los Cerritos Park, 3750 Del Mar Ave.
  • Thursdays, June 28, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way.
  • Friday, June 29, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street.

Week 2: Star-Spangled Salute

  • Tuesday, July 3, Whaley Park, 5620 Atherton.
  • Thursdays, July 5, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way.
  • Friday, July 6, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street.

Week 3: A Musical Journey

  • Tuesday, July 10, Bixby/Bluff Park, Ocean Boulevard between Junipero & Cherry avenues.
  • Wednesday, July 11, Los Cerritos Park, 3750 Del Mar Ave.
  • Thursday, July 12, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way.
  • Friday, July 13, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street.

Week 4: Southern Harmonies

  • Tuesday, July 17, Bixby/Bluff Park, Ocean Boulevard between Junipero & Cherry avenues
  • Wednesday, July 18, Los Cerritos Park, 3750 Del Mar Ave.
  • Thursday, July 19, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way
  • Friday, July 20, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street

Week 5: Off Broadway

  • Tuesday, July 24, Bixby/Bluff Park, Ocean Boulevard, between Junipero & Cherry avenues.
  • Wednesday, July 25, Los Cerritos Park, 3750 Del Mar Ave.
  • Thursday, July 26, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way
  • Friday, July 27, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street

Week 6: Latin Heat

  • Tuesday, July 31, Ramona Park, 3301 E. 65th St.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 1, Los Cerritos Park, 3750 Del Mar Ave.
  • Thursday, Aug. 2, Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way
  • Friday, Aug. 3, El Dorado Park, Studebaker Road & Willow Street

Support our journalism.

Hyperlocal news is an essential force in our democracy, but it costs money to keep an organization like this one alive, and we can’t rely on advertiser support alone. That’s why we’re asking readers like you to support our independent, fact-based journalism. We know you like it—that’s why you’re here. Help us keep hyperlocal news alive in Long Beach.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

More