Long Beach to inaugurate 9 leaders Tuesday, including mayor and 5 councilmembers • Long Beach Post

All current councilmembers, as well as Mayor Robert Garcia, who were up for election in April won a second term, either by virtue of having no opponents, garnering more than 50 percent of the vote in April, or winning runoffs against challengers in the June primary.

ADVERTISEMENT - Story continues below
Advertise with the Post

The city’s three other citywide officerholders—Auditor Laura Doud, Attorney Charles Parkin and Prosecutor Doug Haubert—also faced no challengers, and were appointed to new terms in January.

The inauguration is slated for 5:30 p.m. Tuesday at the Terrace Theater Plaza.

Here’s an overview:


Tuesday night, the mayor, five councilmembers and three citywide officerholders will be sworn in at the Terrace Theater.

Posted by Long Beach Post on Monday, July 16, 2018

Free news isn’t cheap.

We believe that everyone should have access to important local news, for free.

However, it costs money to keep a local news organization like this one—independently owned and operated here in Long Beach, without the backing of any national corporation—alive.

If independent local news is important to you, please consider supporting us with a monthly or one-time contribution. Read more.

Select Payment Method
Personal Info

This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.

Donation Total: $5.00 Monthly


Share this:

« »